Nursing programs want a full Windows or macOS laptop with a webcam, and most ask for at least 8 GB of RAM. Of the 14 program pages we read on October 18, 2026, 11 rule out Chromebooks, 10 require a webcam and 6 say an iPad can’t be your main device.
If you don’t know your program’s rules yet, buy an Intel or AMD Windows 11 laptop that isn’t in S mode, or a MacBook, with 16 GB. Then read your school’s own page before you pay.
We may earn a commission from links on this page. It doesn’t change what we recommend. How we make money
How we gathered this
We opened each program’s own laptop or computer requirements page on October 18, 2026 and wrote down what it says, nothing more. We started with the six schools Google shows first for “nursing school laptop requirements”: University of Maryland, Johns Hopkins, University of Virginia, University of Louisville, UW–Madison and Baylor. Then we added public universities, private schools and community colleges from Massachusetts to California, for N = 14.
Where a page is silent, the table says “not stated”. We counted wording that excludes a device (“not compatible”, “not acceptable”, “will not work”, “things to avoid”) as ruling it out, and “not recommended” as advising against it. Only five pages carry a date, and only in the page code. Treat each row as a snapshot: programs revise these pages yearly.
The University of La Verne’s nursing link loaded its college home page, so it isn’t counted. We don’t buy or test laptops; how we work explains our sources.
Do you need a laptop for nursing school?
Yes, at every program we read. All 14 pages set a laptop or computer standard, and seven name ExamSoft, whose Examplify app runs exams on the student’s own computer. Kirkwood Community College’s store page says accepted nursing students must have their own laptop.
The full survey: 14 nursing programs
| Program | Type, state | Windows / Mac on the page | Min RAM | Chromebook | iPad as main device | Webcam / mic | Exam software named |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Maryland School of Nursing | Public university, MD | Win 11 24H2+, no S edition, non-ARM; macOS 14+ | 8 GB (16 rec.) | No | No (Surface Pro OK) | Required | Examplify |
| Johns Hopkins School of Nursing | Private university, MD | Win 10 Pro or higher; macOS Ventura+; no Snapdragon (Dell) | 16 GB | No | No | Webcam required; headset advised | None named |
| University of Virginia School of Nursing | Public university, VA | University-supported Windows or macOS | Not stated | No | No | Required | Not stated |
| University of South Carolina College of Nursing | Public university, SC | Win 11 (Dell); Mac not recommended | 8 GB | Not recommended | Not stated | Not stated | ExamSoft, ATI |
| A-B Tech School of Nursing | Community college, NC | “A current operating system” | 4 GB | Not recommended | Not stated | Required if not built in | Not stated |
| University of Louisville School of Nursing | Public university, KY | Win 11, no RT or S mode; macOS 14.7.5+ | 8 GB (16 rec.) | Avoid | On avoid list, OK for some classwork | Built-in expected | Respondus LockDown Browser |
| Baylor Louise Herrington School of Nursing | Private university, TX | Win 11 23H2–25H2, ARM on 24H2+; macOS 14, 15, 26 | 4 GB (8 rec.) | No | Unclear wording | Required | ExamSoft (separate page) |
| Cizik School of Nursing, UTHealth Houston | Public university, TX | Win 11 Education or Pro, Intel or AMD; macOS Tahoe preferred | 16 GB (8 GB for MacBook Neo) | No | No | Required | Not stated |
| UW–Madison School of Nursing | Public university, WI | Win 10, no RT or 10 S; macOS 10.12+ | 4 GB | No | No | Not stated | ExamSoft |
| Kent State College of Nursing | Public university, OH | Full Win 11; macOS 13+ | 8 GB (16 rec.) | No | Exams only with professor’s OK | 720p webcam + mic | Respondus LockDown Browser |
| Kirkwood Community College Nursing (store page) | Community college, IA | Win 10/11; program PDF says no Mac | 8 GB | No (store page) | No (store page) | Required | Examplify, ATI |
| Clovis Community College Nursing | Community college, CA | Win 10, no S mode; macOS 11+ | 8 GB | Allowed if specs met | iPadOS 12+ listed | Required | Not stated |
| Northwest University Buntain School of Nursing | Private university, WA | “Most modern” Windows or Mac | Not stated | No | Not stated | Not stated | ExamSoft |
| UMass Dartmouth College of Nursing and Health Sciences | Public university, MA | Win 10; macOS “10.X” | 8 GB | No | Not stated | Not stated | ExamSoft, ATI |
All 14 pages read October 18, 2026. “Not stated” means the page doesn’t say. Kirkwood’s row combines its nursing program PDF and its campus store’s nursing page. Northwest’s WA listing comes from its program home page.
Page dates and the extra rules worth knowing
| Program | Date on the page | Extra rule |
|---|---|---|
| Maryland | None shown | Doesn’t cover fully online programs |
| Johns Hopkins | Modified March 6, 2025 (page code) | Laptop ideally under 3 years old |
| Virginia | None shown | BitLocker or FileVault required; says Windows 11 Home lacks BitLocker |
| South Carolina | None shown | Chrome or Firefox; Safari and Edge “potential issues” |
| A-B Tech | None shown | Battery should last 3 hours |
| Louisville | Modified April 21, 2026 (page code) | 13-inch screen minimum |
| Baylor | Published August 18, 2023 (page code), lists newer builds | Its ExamSoft page requires Examplify 3.11.2 |
| UTHealth Houston | Modified June 9, 2026 (page code) | No Lenovo laptops; no older than 2 years |
| UW–Madison | None shown | Antivirus off during ExamSoft exams |
| Kent State | None shown | 1920×1080 screen minimum |
| Kirkwood | None shown | Touch screen must be disabled to run Examplify |
| Clovis | None shown | Don’t use a phone for Canvas work |
| Northwest University | None shown | Examplify can’t run in virtual environments |
| UMass Dartmouth | Published October 3, 2024 (page code) | Privacy screen mandatory for exams |
Same 14 pages, read October 18, 2026. “Page code” means the date sits in the page’s metadata, not its visible text.
What the 14 programs agree on
Chromebooks are out almost everywhere. Eleven pages rule them out, South Carolina and A-B Tech advise against them, and only Clovis Community College allows one that meets its processor and memory lines. The reason is exam software. ExamSoft says “Examplify will not run on Chromebooks, Android, or Linux operating systems,” and South Carolina warns a Chromebook may cause problems with Blackboard and ExamSoft.
Webcams come next: 10 pages require one, usually with a microphone. Kent State sets a number, 720p minimum and 1080p recommended. Johns Hopkins and A-B Tech accept an external webcam if the laptop has none built in.
Where they disagree
The Windows version is the biggest split. Six pages require Windows 11, while five still list Windows 10: Johns Hopkins, UW–Madison, Kirkwood, Clovis and UMass Dartmouth. Microsoft ended Windows 10 support on October 14, 2025. ExamSoft certifies only 64-bit Windows 11 builds 24H2, 25H2 and 26H2 (checked October 2026), yet Baylor’s page still lists 23H2. Program pages lag the vendor, so follow the stricter rule and ask your program.
ARM chips split them too. Maryland asks for a “non-ARM processor” and Johns Hopkins says the Qualcomm Snapdragon chip is not supported on its Dell option. Baylor repeats ExamSoft’s line: “ARM Processors are only supported on Windows 11 24H2 and higher.” The other 11 don’t name ARM, though UTHealth Houston’s Windows line asks for an Intel or AMD chip, which leaves Snapdragon out. That matters because Microsoft’s consumer Surface Pro and Surface Laptop are Snapdragon-only as of October 2026.
UTHealth Houston’s Cizik School of Nursing says Lenovo laptops are not approved “due to State of Texas technology restrictions.” It also wants Windows 11 Education or Pro, not Home, and a computer no more than two years old at orientation.
Johns Hopkins lists 16 GB. UTHealth Houston also lists 16 GB, with an explicit 8 GB exception for the MacBook Neo. The chart groups UTHealth Houston by its main 16 GB requirement, rather than its device-specific exception. ExamSoft itself needs 4 GB, with 8 GB recommended when an exam uses ExamID or ExamMonitor. We’d buy 16 GB anyway; it clears every RAM line here.
Should I get an iPad or laptop for nursing school?
Get a laptop. Six pages say outright that an iPad can’t be your main device: Maryland, Johns Hopkins, Virginia, UTHealth Houston, UW–Madison and Kirkwood’s store page. Louisville lists iPads to avoid for testing but says they may suit most classwork, so we didn’t count it. Kent State allows an iPad for an exam only with your professor’s approval.
Baylor is the odd line. Its page says “LHSON does now allow iPads for testing,” in a note that also says its testing software rejects Chrome devices and S-mode Surface Pros, so “now” may be a typo for “not.” Ask Baylor’s IT team before you count on it.
Windows tablets are different. Maryland and Kent State accept one running full Windows 11, and Maryland names the Surface Pro, the only tablet ExamSoft supports.
Is a Mac or Windows computer better for nursing school?
Neither is ruled out or advised against at 12 of the 14 programs. The exceptions: Kirkwood’s program PDF says “Windows 10/11 (No Mac OS),” even though its campus store page says MacBooks will work, and South Carolina says Macs are “not recommended” and may cause problems with Blackboard and ExamSoft. If you’re headed to either, buy Windows or get the answer in writing.
Mac buyers should read the chip line. Maryland’s Mac line lists M1 to M5 chips and doesn’t mention the MacBook Neo’s A18 Pro. Johns Hopkins asks for 16 GB, and the Neo’s 8 GB can’t be upgraded. Baylor lists A18 among accepted Mac chips, and UTHealth Houston names the Neo and accepts it with 8 GB. Our Examplify compatibility page has the Neo’s full timeline.
Which exam software do nursing schools use?
ExamSoft leads. Seven of the 14 pages name ExamSoft or its Examplify app, three name ATI, two name Respondus LockDown Browser, and none names HESI. Five name none, which only means the page is silent.
The exam tool decides which laptops fail. Examplify’s rules, checked October 2026: 64-bit Windows 11 only, “S mode is not compatible with Examplify,” and “Examplify does not support touchscreen input on Mac or Windows laptops.” Respondus says LockDown Browser with Monitor works on Chromebooks and on ARM Windows laptops through emulation, but not in S mode (its page was updated July 1, 2026).
If your program uses Examplify, start with our best laptop for ExamSoft picks. PA programs set similar rules; see best laptop for PA school.
What it means for buyers
Your program’s page beats any list, including ours. If you don’t know your program yet, buy for the strictest page in the survey: an Intel or AMD laptop with Windows 11 Pro, 16 GB, a webcam with a microphone and a 14-inch or larger screen at 1920×1080 or better. Add “not Lenovo” for UTHealth Houston and “not Mac” for Kirkwood.
No laptop on our shortlist clears all 14 out of the box. Our Windows pick is the Dell XPS 13: Intel, 16 GB, a 2MP webcam (Notebookcheck), a 13.4-inch screen, $999.99 on dell.com (checked October 18, 2026). It ships with Windows 11 Home, so Virginia (BitLocker required) and UTHealth Houston (Pro or Education) students would need to upgrade, and Johns Hopkins’ Dell spec asks for a 14-inch screen. When we re-checked on October 21, 2026, Dell’s page showed the 16 GB option without a price (the 8 GB model was $699.99), so check the 16 GB price before you buy.
Five pages also ask for an Intel Core i5 or better. Newer Intel chips are branded Core 5, Core 7 or Core Ultra 5, and Apple’s M chips aren’t Intel at all, so ask if your page uses the old names.
If money is the limit, the Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3i 15 (15IRU8, a 2023 model) is the cheapest 16 GB laptop on our shortlist, on sale for under $500 at Best Buy on October 22, 2026. Its Core i5-1335U matches the “Core i5” wording those five pages use. Best Buy doesn’t show the Windows edition and Lenovo lists S mode options, so check the listing says “Windows 11 Home” without “in S mode”, or switch out (free, one-way). The trade-offs are 256 GB of storage and a 250-nit screen (Lenovo PSREF), and it’s out at UTHealth Houston.
For a Mac, the MacBook Air 13 M5 with 16 GB is $1,299 at apple.com ($1,199 education pricing, checked October 18, 2026). It meets every Mac line that names Apple chips; skip it for Kirkwood and South Carolina.
Free laptops for nursing students
None of the 14 programs we read hands out a free laptop. UW–Madison lets students lease one from the university for a per-semester fee instead of buying. Kirkwood’s campus store sells approved models at educational pricing, tax-free.
Financial aid is the better route. The federal Student Aid Handbook for 2026–2027 says a school’s cost of attendance can include “a reasonable allowance for the rental or upfront purchase of a personal computer,” even one bought before the term starts. Ask your aid office whether it will add the laptop your program requires.
FAQ
What is the best laptop for nursing students in 2026?
The one that passes your program’s page. From our shortlist, the Dell XPS 13 is our Windows pick, the Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3i 15 is the cheapest 16 GB option, and the MacBook Air 13 M5 is our Mac pick.
Can I use a Chromebook for nursing school?
Usually not. Eleven of the 14 programs rule Chromebooks out, two advise against them, and only Clovis Community College allows one. If your exams run in Examplify, a Chromebook can’t run it.
Is 8 GB of RAM enough for nursing school?
The table lists an 8 GB or lower minimum at 10 of the 12 programs that give a RAM figure. Johns Hopkins lists 16 GB; UTHealth Houston lists 16 GB but explicitly accepts 8 GB for the MacBook Neo only. We’d pay for 16 GB so a proctored exam and a browser can run side by side.
Do nursing schools still accept Windows 10?
Five of the 14 pages still list it, but Microsoft ended Windows 10 support on October 14, 2025, and ExamSoft no longer certifies it. Upgrade or replace a Windows 10 laptop before your first exam.
Will the MacBook Neo work for nursing school?
At some programs. UTHealth Houston names it and accepts its 8 GB, and Baylor and ExamSoft’s requirements page list its A18 chip (checked October 2026). ExamSoft’s release notes, updated October 13, 2026, add Neo support in Examplify 3.11.2; in March 2026 the University of Tennessee Health Science Center had told students to wait. Johns Hopkins wants 16 GB, which the Neo can’t meet.
What to do next
- Open your program’s technology page and note five lines: Windows version and edition, Mac chip, RAM, Chromebook and iPad.
- If the page names Examplify, compare it with ExamSoft’s minimum requirements and follow whichever is stricter. Our Will it run? checker does the comparison for a laptop you’re considering.
- On a Windows laptop you already own, press Windows+R, type winver and check it says Windows 11. Then check Settings > System > Activation for S mode.
- If your page has no date or still lists Windows 10, email the program’s IT contact before you buy.
- Ask financial aid whether it will add the laptop to your cost of attendance.
Sources
- University of Maryland School of Nursing: Nursing Student Computing Requirements, read October 18, 2026
- Johns Hopkins School of Nursing: Laptop & Connectivity Requirement, read October 18, 2026
- University of Virginia School of Nursing: Student Computing Policies and Information, read October 18, 2026
- University of South Carolina College of Nursing: Technology, read October 18, 2026
- A-B Tech School of Nursing Technology Requirements, read October 18, 2026
- University of Louisville School of Nursing: Technology Requirements, read October 18, 2026
- Baylor Louise Herrington School of Nursing: Recommended Minimum Laptop Requirements, read October 18, 2026
- Baylor Louise Herrington School of Nursing: ExamSoft (Examplify), read October 18, 2026
- Cizik School of Nursing, UTHealth Houston: Computer Requirements, read October 18, 2026
- UW–Madison School of Nursing: Laptop Policy, read October 18, 2026
- Kent State University College of Nursing: Laptop Requirements, read October 18, 2026
- Kirkwood Community College: Nursing Program Technology Requirements (PDF), read October 18, 2026
- Kirkwood Bookstore & EagleShop: Nursing 1-to-1, read October 18, 2026
- Clovis Community College Nursing: Technology Requirements, read October 18, 2026
- Northwest University Buntain School of Nursing: Computer Specifications and Laptop Requirements, read October 18, 2026
- Northwest University Buntain School of Nursing (program home page, WABON approval), read October 18, 2026
- UMass Dartmouth College of Nursing and Health Sciences: Computer requirements, read October 18, 2026
- University of La Verne nursing technical standards link (loaded the college home page; not counted), read October 18, 2026
- ExamSoft: Examplify Minimum System Requirements, checked October 18, 2026
- ExamSoft: Legacy Upcoming Features Releases (Examplify 3.11.2 notes), updated October 13, 2026, read October 18, 2026
- UTHSC: Examplify and MacBook Neo, important notice, March 23, 2026, read October 18, 2026
- Respondus: System requirements for Respondus Monitor, updated July 1, 2026, read October 18, 2026
- Microsoft: End of support for Windows 10, read October 18, 2026
- Microsoft: Windows 11 in S mode FAQ, via our shortlist, checked October 18, 2026
- Microsoft Surface Laptop tech specs and Surface Pro tech specs, via our shortlist, checked October 18, 2026
- Federal Student Aid Handbook 2026–2027, Volume 3, Chapter 2: Cost of Attendance, read October 18, 2026
- Dell XPS 13 (DX13260) on dell.com, price checked October 18, 2026; webcam per Notebookcheck’s XPS 13 page
- Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3i 15IRU8 at Best Buy, price checked October 22, 2026; Lenovo PSREF spec sheet, via our shortlist
- Apple MacBook Air store page and MacBook Neo specs, checked October 18, 2026