Skip to content
LaptopOwners

We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. It never decides which laptop we pick. How we make money

Laptops Compatible With Examplify: Mac, Chromebook, Snapdragon and MacBook Neo Checked

Examplify runs on most Windows 11 laptops and Macs from the last few years. On Windows you need version 24H2, 25H2 or 26H2, no S mode and Secure Boot on; on a Mac you need macOS Sequoia, Tahoe or Golden Gate on an Intel, A18 or M-series chip. It won’t run on a Chromebook, and while ExamSoft supports Snapdragon laptops and the MacBook Neo as of October 2026, some schools still say no, so your program’s list wins.

We may earn a commission from links on this page. It doesn’t change what we recommend. How we make money

This page answers “will mine work?” If you’re buying, our best laptop for ExamSoft guide has the picks.

Will Examplify run on my laptop? Device by device

Device Examplify What decides it
Windows 11 laptop, Intel or AMD Runs Version 24H2, 25H2 or 26H2; no S mode; Secure Boot on
Windows on ARM (Snapdragon) Runs with limits Same builds, plus Examplify 3.10.0+; some schools ban ARM
Windows 11 in S mode Won’t run Switch out of S mode first (free, one-way)
Windows 10 Won’t run Not supported; upgrade to Windows 11 if the laptop qualifies
Chromebook Won’t run No workaround
Mac with an M-series chip Runs macOS Sequoia, Tahoe or Golden Gate
Mac with an Intel chip Runs with limits Sequoia or Tahoe only; Golden Gate needs Apple silicon
MacBook Neo Runs with limits ExamSoft lists A18; some schools still say no
iPad Runs with limits Separate iPad app, if your program allows it; not for bar exams
Surface Pro Runs with limits Only tablet ExamSoft supports, not for bar exams; consumer models are ARM
Surface Laptop Runs with limits Consumer models are Snapdragon, so ARM rules apply
Linux, Android, virtual machines Won’t run Not supported; a VM breaks ExamSoft’s EULA

Source: ExamSoft minimum system requirements and bar exam requirements, checked October 18, 2026. Intel Mac limit: MacRumors (linked below).

Windows laptops with Intel or AMD chips

Almost all of them run it if Windows 11 is version 24H2, 25H2 or 26H2, isn’t in S mode and has Secure Boot on.

Don’t stay on 24H2, though. ExamSoft still certifies it, but Microsoft’s lifecycle page lists October 14, 2026 as the end date for Windows 11 Home and Pro version 24H2 (Microsoft). 25H2 and 26H2 are both certified. ExamSoft drops old versions too: Boston University Law’s guidelines say it retired 23H2 as of September 30, 2026 (BU Law).

Does Examplify work on Snapdragon laptops?

Yes, with two conditions. ExamSoft says “ARM Processors are only supported on Windows 11 24H2 and higher using Examplify version 3.10.0 or higher.” Its release notes confirm ARM support from Examplify for Windows 3.10.

Your school may be stricter. Miami Law’s page says “ARM processors are not supported (i.e., Snapdragon)” (checked October 18, 2026). If your program says no ARM, follow your program.

Windows in S mode

It won’t install: “S mode is not compatible with Examplify.” ExamSoft’s guide explains that S mode only allows Microsoft Store apps, and many Microsoft devices, including Surface Pros, ship that way.

To switch out on Windows 11, open Settings > System > Activation and, under Switch to Windows 11 Pro, select Go to the Store. On the “Switch out of S mode” page, click Get. Ignore any “Upgrade your edition of Windows” option, because it doesn’t remove S mode. Microsoft says switching is free and one-way (Microsoft S mode FAQ).

Can you use a Chromebook for ExamSoft?

No. “Examplify will not run on Chromebooks, Android, or Linux operating systems.” Pepperdine’s law tech page says Chromebooks “do not work with ExamSoft Examplify at all” (Pepperdine, April 19, 2023). Turning on Linux inside ChromeOS doesn’t help, since ExamSoft excludes Linux too.

Is ExamSoft compatible with Mac?

Yes. ExamSoft lists macOS Sequoia, Tahoe and Golden Gate, on Intel, A18 or M-series chips. Every Apple-silicon Mac can run Golden Gate, per MacRumors.

Intel Macs are the weak spot. Golden Gate needs Apple silicon. Only four Intel models got Tahoe: the 16-inch MacBook Pro (2019), four-port 13-inch MacBook Pro (2020), iMac (2020) and Mac Pro (2019). Apple’s Sequoia list reaches back to the 2018 MacBook Pro and 2020 MacBook Air.

ExamSoft retired macOS Sonoma as of September 30, 2026, per BU Law’s guidelines. Bar takers on a Mac: ExamSoft recommends sitting the exam on the same macOS version as a recent successful mock exam.

Does ExamSoft work on the MacBook Neo?

Yes, according to ExamSoft as of October 2026. Its release notes say Examplify 3.11.2 “formally adds support for the MacBook Neo on versions 3.11.2 (changed from 3.11.0) and 3.10.0.” Its requirements page lists “A18” among supported Mac chips, and the Neo uses Apple’s A18 Pro. The release note doesn’t name 3.11.7, the US bar build, so for the bar the Neo isn’t confirmed.

The confusion comes from schools. On March 23, 2026, UTHSC told students not to use the Neo with Examplify until certification was finished. On October 18, 2026, UC Irvine Law’s FAQ still said “any Macbook running an A processor (i.e. Macbook Neo) will not run Examplify.”

ExamSoft now lists the Neo, but a law school FAQ still says no Timeline of the MacBook Neo and Examplify. March 4, 2026: MacRumors reports the Neo ships with 8 GB of memory and no upgrade option. March 23, 2026: UTHSC tells students not to use the Neo with Examplify until ExamSoft finishes certifying it. By October 13, 2026: ExamSoft’s release notes, updated that day, say Examplify 3.11.2 adds MacBook Neo support on versions 3.11.2 and 3.10.0. October 18, 2026: ExamSoft’s minimum requirements page lists A18 among supported Mac processors. October 18, 2026: UC Irvine Law’s ExamSoft FAQ still says A-series MacBooks such as the Neo will not run Examplify. ExamSoft now lists the Neo, but a law school FAQ still says no MacBook Neo and Examplify, March to October 2026, dated by source Mar 4, 2026 Mar 23, 2026 By Oct 13, 2026 Oct 18, 2026 Oct 18, 2026 MacRumors: the Neo ships with 8 GB of memory and no option to upgrade it. UTHSC tells students not to use the Neo with Examplify until ExamSoft finishes certifying it. ExamSoft release notes (page updated Oct 13): Examplify 3.11.2 adds Neo support, on versions 3.11.2 and 3.10.0. ExamSoft’s requirements page lists A18 among supported Mac processors. UC Irvine Law’s ExamSoft FAQ still says A-series MacBooks such as the Neo will not run Examplify.
Sources: MacRumors, March 4, 2026; UTHSC notice, March 23, 2026; ExamSoft release notes and minimum system requirements; UC Irvine Law ExamSoft FAQ. ExamSoft and UC Irvine pages checked October 18, 2026.

If you own a Neo, check your program’s current page. If it still says no, email the program, point to ExamSoft’s A18 listing, and plan on another laptop until it answers in writing. The Neo’s 8 GB can’t be upgraded; it meets ExamSoft’s 8 GB recommendation for monitored exams, with nothing spare.

Does Examplify work on iPad?

There’s an Examplify iPad app, but your program decides whether you can use it. As of October 2026, ExamSoft supports iPadOS 18 and 26 on app version 5.4.1, which it says is retiring in October 2026. iPadOS 18 is retiring pending iPadOS 27 certification, and iPadOS 27 will need version 5.6.

Plenty of programs won’t accept an iPad, and ExamSoft’s bar exam page lists tablets and iPads as not supported. Bowling Green State’s DPT program says “An iPad cannot be considered a laptop computer.”

Can I use a Surface Pro or Surface Laptop?

Usually, if your school allows ARM. The Surface Pro is the only tablet ExamSoft supports. As of October 2026, the consumer Surface Pro 12th Edition and Surface Laptop 8th Edition sold in the US use Snapdragon X2 chips, so ARM rules apply. The Surface Pro needs its keyboard (sold separately), and it’s out for bar exams, where ExamSoft supports no tablets.

Examplify system requirements: Windows vs Mac vs iPad

Programs can add to this list, but not loosen it.

Requirement Windows Mac iPad
Operating system 64-bit Windows 11: 24H2, 25H2 or 26H2 macOS Sequoia, Tahoe or Golden Gate iPadOS 18 or 26
Examplify version 3.12.0, 3.10.0; 3.11.7 for US bar 3.12.0, 3.10.0; 3.11.7 for US bar 5.4.1 (retiring Oct 2026)
Processor x86, or ARM on those builds with 3.10.0+ Intel, A18 or M series Not stated
Memory 4 GB usable; 8 GB recommended with ExamID/ExamMonitor 4 GB; 8 GB recommended with ExamID/ExamMonitor Not stated
Free storage 4 GB 4 GB 500 MB; 2 GB with ExamID/ExamMonitor
Screen 1280 x 768 or more, 100% scaling 1280 x 768 or more, 100% scaling Not stated
Account Administrator Administrator Not stated
Other rules No S mode, Secure Boot on, genuine Windows, English (US) language pack Genuine macOS, no server versions Not jailbroken
Monitored exams Webcam (no virtual cameras), microphone (not a headset), 2.5 Mbps upload Same as Windows 2.5 Mbps upload

Source: ExamSoft minimum system requirements, checked October 18, 2026. The page has no last-updated date; re-check it before you buy or update.

How to check your own laptop in 2 minutes

Will Examplify run on my laptop? Six checks, in order Decision flowchart based on ExamSoft’s minimum system requirements, checked October 18, 2026. Check 1: is it a Chromebook, or does it run Android or Linux? If yes, it won’t run. Check 2: is it a Mac? If yes, it runs on macOS Sequoia, Tahoe or Golden Gate with an Intel, A18 or M-series chip. Otherwise it’s Windows. Check 3: does winver show Windows 11, version 24H2, 25H2 or 26H2? If no, it’s not supported; move to 25H2 or 26H2, or replace it. Check 4: does Settings, System, Activation show S mode? If yes, it won’t run until you switch out of S mode, which is free. Check 5: is the processor a Snapdragon (ARM) chip? If yes, it runs on Examplify 3.10 or newer unless your school bans ARM. Check 6: are Secure Boot on, scaling at 100%, an admin account and the English (US) language pack all in place? If no, it won’t install until you fix that setting. If yes, it runs. Will Examplify run on my laptop? Six checks, in order Follow the arrows. Based on ExamSoft’s minimum system requirements. 1. Is it a Chromebook, or does it run Android or Linux? 2. Is it a Mac? 3. Does winver show Windows 11, version 24H2, 25H2 or 26H2? 4. Does Settings > System > Activation show S mode? 5. Is the processor a Snapdragon (ARM) chip? 6. Secure Boot on, scale 100%, admin account, English (US) pack? Yes Yes No Yes Yes No No No, it’s Windows Yes No No Yes Won’t run. No setting fixes it. Runs on Sequoia, Tahoe or Golden Gate (Intel, A18, M) Won’t run. Move to 25H2 or 26H2, or replace the laptop. Won’t run until you switch out of S mode (free). Runs with limits: Examplify 3.10+, unless school bans ARM Won’t run until you fix that setting (steps below). Runs. Install it and take the mock exam.
Source: ExamSoft minimum system requirements, checked October 18, 2026.

On Windows:

  1. Version. Press Windows + R, type winver and click OK. It should say Version 24H2, 25H2 or 26H2 (Pureinfotech).
  2. Processor, RAM and 64-bit. Open Settings > System > About and look under Device specifications (Microsoft). A processor starting with “Snapdragon” is ARM.
  3. S mode. Open Settings > System > Activation. If the edition ends in “S mode”, switch out as above.
  4. Secure Boot. Type msinfo32 in Start. In System Summary, Secure Boot State should say On. “Off” means it’s disabled in your firmware settings; “Unsupported” means no Secure Boot support or a legacy BIOS install (ElevenForum).
  5. Scaling. Open Settings > System > Display and set Scale to 100% under Scale & layout (Pureinfotech). ExamSoft asks for 100% “to avoid wrapping issues” (ExamSoft).
  6. Admin account. Settings > Accounts > Your info should say Administrator (Geek Rewind). If not, an administrator can change your account type (ExamSoft).
  7. Language pack. In Settings > Time & language > Language & region, English (United States) should be under Preferred languages. If not, click Add a language and install it (Dell).

On a Mac, choose Apple menu > System Settings > General > About to see the chip and macOS version (ExamSoft). For admin rights, open System Settings > Users & Groups, click the info icon next to your account and turn on “Allow this user to administer this computer” (ExamSoft).

Prefer to click through it? Our Will it run? checker asks the same questions.

Why can’t Examplify be installed on my computer?

Usually one of the checks above failed. Here’s what the common messages mean.

What you see What it usually means What to do
“does not meet minimum system requirements” An unlisted Windows version, S mode or an old macOS. SUNY Broome also saw it on new laptops with an outdated Examplify download Update the OS, or uninstall Examplify and download the current version
The installer won’t run outside the Microsoft Store S mode Switch out of S mode
A prompt to install Microsoft Visual C++ components, or a missing Msvcr100.dll Windows lacks a runtime Examplify needs Connect to the internet and select Install, then Yes; if Examplify still won’t start, call ExamSoft
“Invalid System Configuration” South Dakota’s help desk blames Windows’ Memory integrity setting Ask your program first; that help desk says to turn it off in Windows Security, then restart
A virtual machine (VM) error ExamSoft’s guide doesn’t explain it; VMs aren’t allowed Don’t use a VM; call ExamSoft support, which can check remotely
A prompt for an admin password you don’t have Standard account, or a laptop managed by an employer Use an administrator account, or ask whoever manages the laptop

Sources: SUNY Broome help desk (modified April 3, 2026); ExamSoft Visual C++ and DLL errors (updated October 25, 2024); University of South Dakota help desk (modified May 29, 2026); ExamSoft troubleshooting guide. All read October 18, 2026.

Go carefully with memory integrity. South Dakota’s article dates from 2022, and ExamSoft’s requirements page doesn’t mention the setting, so ask before changing it. BU Law’s guidelines list ExamSoft support at 866-429-8889, weekdays 8:30 to 5:30 Eastern.

If your laptop fails: the cheapest ones that pass

These are the cheapest picks from our best laptop for ExamSoft guide, checked October 18, 2026 (the Slim 3 on October 22). The guide has more.

The Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 15 (15ARP10) had 16 GB for under $600 on sale at Best Buy, and Lenovo lists Windows 11 Home for this model. Some versions of this family ship in S mode, so check the listing.

budgetLenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 15 (15ARP10), model 83K700TUUS (Ryzen 7 170, 16 GB, 512 GB, touch, Luna Grey; Best Buy SKU 6674708)AMD Ryzen 7 170 (8 cores/16 threads, 3.2-4.75 GHz, 4 MB L2 / 16 MB L3; Zen 3+ per Best Buy's description) (PSREF) · 16 GB RAM · 512 GB SSD · 15.3" screen · 3.51 lbRuns Examplify, with a caveatx86, Windows 11 Home, 16 GB: meets ExamSoft's Windows rules. Caveats: confirm it isn't in S mode at setup (the platform lists S mode editions), and touch input isn't supported during exams.
$599.99Price at bestbuy.com, checked Oct 22, 2026Check price on Amazon

The Dell 15 (D15261) is $699.99 on dell.com with Windows 11 Home and 8 GB. That meets ExamSoft’s 8 GB recommendation for monitored exams; 16 GB costs $200 more.

budgetDell 15 (D15261, 2026)Intel Core 3 304 (base); Core 5 320 +$100, Core 7 350 +$200 · 8 GB RAM · 512 GB SSD · 15.3" screen · 3.39 lbRuns Examplify, with a caveatx86, Windows 11 Home, not S mode. Base config has 8 GB (single 1x8 GB module): fine for Examplify (4 GB minimum) and meets the 8 GB ExamMonitor recommendation, but tight for ExamMonitor plus a browser. Dell offers a 16 GB upgrade for +$200 (the page lists the add-on, not a total).
$699.99Price at dell.com, checked Oct 21, 2026Check price on Amazon

The MacBook Neo is $699, or $599 with education pricing on apple.com. Buy it only if your program’s list includes it.

macApple MacBook Neo 13-inch (A18 Pro, 2026)Apple A18 Pro (6-core CPU, 5-core GPU) · 5-core GPU · 8 GB unified memory · 256 GB SSD · 13" screen · 2.7 lbRuns Examplify, with a caveatExamSoft's MSR page lists A18 among supported Mac CPUs, and ExamSoft's release notes (page updated Oct 13, 2026) say Examplify 3.11.2 formally adds MacBook Neo support (also on 3.10.0). UTHSC told students on March 23, 2026 not to use it until certified, so check your school's current list. 8 GB is the only memory option: fine for Examplify, tight for ExamMonitor plus a browser. 512 GB with Touch ID is $799; education prices $599/$699.
$699.00Price at apple.com, checked Oct 21, 2026Check price on Amazon

FAQ

Should I update Windows or macOS before an exam?

Only to a version ExamSoft lists. Miami Law tells students to turn off auto-update and wait until Exam4 and ExamSoft add new versions to their requirements pages. As of October 18, 2026, that’s Windows 11 24H2, 25H2 or 26H2, and macOS Sequoia, Tahoe or Golden Gate.

Can I run Examplify in Parallels or another virtual machine?

No. ExamSoft says using Examplify in a virtual environment violates its EULA. Use Examplify for Mac directly instead of a Windows VM.

Does Examplify work with a touchscreen or stylus?

No. “Examplify does not support touchscreen input on Mac or Windows laptops.” The laptop can have a touchscreen; you just type your answers.

Can I use my work laptop for Examplify?

Only if you have an administrator account on it, because ExamSoft requires one. An employer-managed laptop may not give you one, and ExamSoft may ask for passwords, including BitLocker keys, when troubleshooting.

What to do next

  1. Run the seven Windows checks (or the two Mac checks) today.
  2. Open your program’s tech page and note its date. If it disagrees with ExamSoft, follow the stricter rule and email the program.
  3. Install Examplify early and take the mock exam as soon as it opens.
  4. Hold OS upgrades until ExamSoft lists the new version.
  5. If it fails, see the picks in our best laptop for ExamSoft guide, or a program guide: best laptop for PA school, nursing school laptop requirements, bar exam laptop requirements or best laptop for the bar exam. WGU proctors exams with Meazure Learning instead of Examplify and bans Windows on Arm; see our best laptop for WGU.

Sources

More students & schools guides