Buy a Windows 11 laptop with an Intel or AMD chip that isn’t in S mode, or a MacBook Air, with 16 GB of RAM and a webcam and microphone that work without a headset. The rule that knocks out the most laptops is the proctoring software: Examplify won’t run on a Chromebook, and ProctorU won’t run on a tablet.
Our top pick is the Dell XPS 13: 16 GB, 2.2 lb and about 19.5 hours in Reviewed.com’s movie-loop battery test, for $999.99 at dell.com (checked October 18, 2026).
We may earn a commission from links on this page. It doesn’t change what we recommend. How we make money
What your laptop has to pass
Your exam tool sets the hard floor. Here’s what three common proctoring tools require, from each vendor’s own page. Examplify and ProctorU are named by the NP programs below; Respondus is the tool behind LockDown Browser, which two programs in our nursing survey name.
| Requirement | ExamSoft Examplify (with ExamMonitor) | Respondus Monitor | ProctorU |
|---|---|---|---|
| Windows | 64-bit Windows 11 (24H2, 25H2, 26H2); no S mode | Windows 11 or 10 (build 19045+); no S mode | Windows 10 or later |
| Mac | macOS Sequoia, Tahoe or Golden Gate; Intel, A18 or M series | macOS 12+ | macOS 11.0 or later |
| Chromebook | Won’t run | Supported | Chrome extension only |
| iPad | iPad app; your school decides | iPadOS 15+, if your LMS supports it | Tablets not supported |
| RAM | 4 GB required, 8 GB recommended | 4 GB available | 8 GB |
| Webcam | Built-in or USB; no virtual cameras | Not stated | 640×480 |
| Microphone | No headphones, no virtual mics | Not stated | Not one built into headphones |
| Internet | 2.5 Mbps upload | Not stated | 3 Mbps up and down |
Sources: ExamSoft minimum system requirements, checked October 18, 2026; Respondus Monitor requirements, updated July 1, 2026; ProctorU equipment requirements, read October 18, 2026. ExamSoft changes its list each term, so re-check before you buy.
Programs then add their own lines on top. These six pages cover NP or graduate nursing students, online and on campus:
| Program (what the page covers) | Computer rules | Webcam / mic | Internet | Exam tool named |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Frontier Nursing University (distance; NPs and nurse-midwives) | Win 11 or macOS 14+; no ChromeOS, iPadOS or ARM except Apple M; 8 GB (16 rec.) | 720p min (1080p rec.); standalone mic; M4 Macs need an external camera | 10 down, 3 up Mbps | Examplify |
| Saint Louis University (MSN nurse practitioner page) | Points to the student handbook | Webcam; headset or earbuds with mic | Not stated | ProctorU (about $325–$375 in fees) |
| Allen College (graduate nursing) | Windows or Mac; no Chromebook or iPad | Webcam, mic and headphones | Not stated | Examplify; PSI Remote Proctor Now |
| University of Cincinnati College of Nursing (graduate students) | Win 11 Home or Pro, or macOS 14+; 8 GB (16 rec.) | Video camera | 5 Mbps (15 rec.) | Not stated |
| Johns Hopkins School of Nursing (all students) | Win 10 Pro+ or macOS Ventura+; 16 GB; no Chromebook, iPad or Snapdragon (Dell) | Webcam; headset | High-speed required | Unnamed remote proctoring service |
| Cizik School of Nursing, UTHealth Houston (all students) | Win 11 Education or Pro, or macOS; 16 GB (8 GB on MacBook Neo); no Lenovo | Built-in webcam and mic | 20+ down, 3–5+ up Mbps | Not stated |
All six pages read October 18, 2026. Frontier’s version history was last dated September 29, 2025. Johns Hopkins still lists Windows 10, which ExamSoft no longer certifies.
Our picks at a glance
| Pick for | Laptop | Why it’s here | Key specs | Examplify fit | Price (source, date) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cheapest that passes | Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 15 (15ARP10) | 16 GB under $600; not approved at UTHealth Houston | Ryzen 7 170, 16 GB, 15.3in, 3.5 lb | Runs with limits: check for S mode | $599.99, Best Buy, Oct 22, 2026 (sale) |
| Best overall | Dell XPS 13 (DX13260) | Light, long battery | Core 5 320, 16 GB, 13.4in, 2.2 lb | Runs | $999.99, dell.com, Oct 18, 2026 |
| Best Mac | MacBook Air 13 M5 | 16 GB, 12MP camera | M5, 16 GB, 13.6in, 2.7 lb | Runs | $1,299, apple.com, Oct 18, 2026 |
| Cheapest Mac | MacBook Neo | Lowest Mac price | A18 Pro, 8 GB fixed, 13in, 2.7 lb | Runs with limits: check your program’s list | $699 ($599 education), apple.com, Oct 18, 2026 |
| Bigger screen | Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 5i 16 Gen 10 | 16in, upgradeable RAM; not approved at UTHealth Houston | Core 5 210H, 16 GB, 16in, 4.08 lb | Runs | $929.99, lenovo.com, Oct 22, 2026 (sale) |
Cheapest that passes: Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 15 (15ARP10)
It’s the cheapest pick here with 16 GB, which meets Johns Hopkins’ 16 GB floor and Frontier’s recommendation. Two USB-A ports take a plug-in webcam without an adapter.
The catch: Lenovo’s spec sheet lists an S mode option for this family, so check the listing says “Windows 11 Home” without “in S mode”, or switch out on day one (free, one-way). Its webcam is 720p (Lenovo PSREF), enough for Frontier’s minimum but not its 1080p recommendation. The touchscreen can’t be used in Examplify, and Lenovo laptops are out at UTHealth Houston.
Best overall for long days: Dell XPS 13 (DX13260)
If we were starting an online FNP program, this is the one we’d buy. It weighs 2.2 lb, has 16 GB, and Reviewed.com got about 19.5 hours looping a movie at 40% brightness; Dell claims up to 17 hours. Notebookcheck lists a 2MP webcam with IR. When we re-checked on October 21, 2026, Dell’s page showed the 16 GB option without a price (the 8 GB model was $699.99), so check the 16 GB price before you buy.
The drawbacks are ports and upgrades. It has two USB-C ports and no headphone jack (Reviewed.com), so a USB-A webcam needs an adapter, and reviewers say the memory can’t be upgraded. It ships with Windows 11 Home, which UTHealth Houston doesn’t accept, and Johns Hopkins’ Dell spec asks for a 14-inch screen.
Best Mac: MacBook Air 13 M5
It’s the Mac we’d pick: 16 GB, a 12MP Center Stage camera, and Apple claims up to 18 hours of video or 15 hours of web browsing. ExamSoft lists M-series chips as supported (checked October 2026), and it’s fanless (Notebookcheck).
It costs $1,299 ($1,199 with education pricing), and the memory and storage are soldered. One program wrinkle: Frontier says Macs with M4 chips must use an external camera for Examplify. Its page doesn’t mention the newer M5, and ExamSoft’s own page has no such rule, so ask your program before exam week.
Cheapest Mac: MacBook Neo
At $699, or $599 with Apple’s education pricing, it’s the cheapest way into a Mac. ExamSoft lists its A18 chip family as supported (checked October 2026), and its release notes, updated October 13, 2026, add Neo support in Examplify 3.11.2. UTHealth Houston names the Neo and accepts its 8 GB, and Cincinnati lists A18 in its recommended Mac line.
Frontier is the catch: its page lists only Apple’s M-series chips for Macs and says other ARM processors aren’t supported by its coursework software, which leaves the Neo’s A18 Pro out. The 8 GB is fixed. It meets ExamSoft’s 8 GB recommendation for ExamMonitor and ProctorU’s 8 GB, but not Johns Hopkins’ 16 GB. Notebookcheck found the 8 GB fills quickly under heavy multitasking, there’s no keyboard backlight, and one USB-C port runs at USB 2 speed. The University of Tennessee Health Science Center told its students in March 2026 to wait on it; our Examplify compatibility page has the timeline since.
Bigger screen: Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 5i 16 Gen 10
A 16-inch screen suits long study sessions, and this one was under $1,000 at lenovo.com on October 22, 2026. It has 16 GB in two slots (up to 32 GB), two USB-A ports, and Lenovo claims up to 15.8 hours of 1080p video.
It’s the heaviest pick at about 4.08 lb (Notebookcheck), and PCMag said the screen lacks punch next to Dell’s 16 Plus (via Notebookcheck). It’s a Lenovo, so skip it for UTHealth Houston, and leave the touchscreen alone during exams.
Add a webcam if your program asks: Logitech Brio 300
A plug-in camera fixes two problems: a weak built-in webcam, and a program rule like Frontier’s M4 line. The Brio 300 records 1080p, plugs into USB-C and has a built-in mic and a privacy shutter, for $59.99 at logitech.com (checked October 18, 2026).
Online or campus: what changes for NP students
Online programs move the exam room to your desk. Frontier calls itself a distance learning program and SLU’s NP courses use ProctorU, so webcam, microphone and upload speed decide whether you can sit the exam. No NP page we read sets a processor floor above Intel Core i5 or Apple M1.
Upload speed is the line people miss. ExamSoft asks for 2.5 Mbps up when ExamMonitor is on, ProctorU and Frontier ask for 3 Mbps, and UTHealth Houston wants 3–5 Mbps or more. ProctorU discourages mobile hotspots, so test from the desk you’ll actually use.
Headsets are the trap. SLU tells NP students to get a headset or earbuds with a microphone, while ProctorU bars mics built into headphones and ExamSoft says “no headphones.” Use the headset for class and the built-in or webcam mic for exams.
Campus programs care more about the machine. Johns Hopkins and UTHealth Houston require 16 GB, and UTHealth adds Windows 11 Education or Pro, no Lenovo and a computer no more than two years old at orientation.
Battery for clinical days
Every pick’s battery figure clears our 10-hour yardstick, but each comes from a maker’s test or a reviewer’s movie loop. The lowest is Apple’s 11-hour web-browsing claim for the MacBook Neo.
We’d still pack a charger, because none of the figures above measures a day of logging patient visits and charting. A small 65W USB-C charger like the Anker 735 ($29.99 at anker.com, checked October 18, 2026) covers the 45–65W USB-C charging range Lenovo lists for the IdeaPad Slim 3.
Is a Mac or Windows computer better for nursing school?
Neither, if it passes your program’s lines. Frontier, Allen, Cincinnati and Johns Hopkins accept both, and in our survey of nursing school laptop requirements, neither was ruled out or advised against at 12 of 14 programs.
Price is the real split: our cheapest 16 GB Windows pick was under $600 on October 22, 2026, the cheapest 16 GB Mac $1,299. On a Mac budget you land on the 8 GB MacBook Neo, which falls short wherever a page asks for 16 GB, and at Frontier.
Is a MacBook or an iPad better for nursing students?
A MacBook, if you have to pick one. ProctorU doesn’t support tablets, Frontier’s coursework software doesn’t support iPadOS, and Allen and Johns Hopkins rule iPads out. Examplify has an iPad app, but your school decides whether you may use it. An iPad earns its place as a second screen for notes.
Laptops to stay away from for NP school
- Anything in S mode. ExamSoft says “S mode is not compatible with Examplify,” and Respondus agrees. Switch out, or buy a listing that says plain “Windows 11 Home.”
- Chromebooks. Respondus and ProctorU’s extension support them, but Examplify won’t run, and Frontier, Allen and Johns Hopkins rule them out.
- An iPad as your only computer. See above.
- Snapdragon (ARM) Windows laptops at Frontier, Johns Hopkins or UTHealth Houston, which asks for Intel or AMD. That includes Microsoft’s consumer Surface Pro and Surface Laptop as of October 2026.
- 8 GB laptops where your page says 16 GB. Johns Hopkins and UTHealth Houston both do.
- Lenovo at UTHealth Houston, which cites State of Texas technology restrictions. At another Texas public university, ask whether the same rule applies.
- Old Windows 10 laptops. Microsoft ended support on October 14, 2025, and ExamSoft no longer certifies Windows 10.
How we chose
We started with the rules: ExamSoft’s, Respondus’s and ProctorU’s own requirement pages, then six NP and graduate nursing program pages, all read October 18, 2026. Every pick had to pass the exam tools, have 16 GB or say clearly where 8 GB falls short, and carry a sourced price. Then we weighed weight, webcam and battery using maker specs and third-party findings from Notebookcheck, Reviewed.com and PCMag. We haven’t tested these laptops ourselves; how we work explains our sources.
Who we wouldn’t shortlist (yet)
- Microsoft Surface Pro 13-inch (12th Edition) and Surface Laptop 13.8-inch (8th Edition). Consumer models are Snapdragon X2 only: allowed under ExamSoft’s ARM rule on Windows 11 24H2, 25H2 or 26H2, out at Frontier, Johns Hopkins and UTHealth Houston.
- Dell 15 (D15261), base model. It’s $699.99 with 8 GB, and 16 GB adds $200, well above the 16 GB IdeaPad Slim 3. Dell’s page doesn’t state the webcam.
- Lenovo ThinkPad E14 Gen 8 (Intel). Notebookcheck liked the AMD version’s keyboard and battery, but the Windows 11 Pro configuration was $1,909 on lenovo.com on October 21, 2026, about $1,000 more than the IdeaPad Slim 5i 16.
- Lenovo Yoga 7i 2-in-1 14. Its pen and touchscreen can’t be used in Examplify exams, and we haven’t found a full English review of this configuration.
FAQ
What type of laptop should I get for nursing school?
An Intel or AMD Windows 11 laptop that isn’t in S mode, or a MacBook, with 16 GB, a webcam and a microphone. Check your program’s brand, edition and chip rules first; if your exams run in Examplify, see our best laptop for ExamSoft guide.
How much RAM do I need for NP school?
At least 8 GB, and we’d buy 16. ProctorU asks for 8 GB, ExamSoft recommends 8 GB with ExamMonitor, Frontier recommends 16 GB, and Johns Hopkins and UTHealth Houston require 16 GB.
Can I wear a headset during a proctored exam?
Usually not. ExamSoft says “no headphones” for ExamMonitor’s microphone, and ProctorU says headphones are generally not permitted and mics built into headphones aren’t allowed. Use the laptop’s built-in mic or a webcam mic, and check your program’s exam rules.
Does ProctorU work on a Chromebook?
Only through its Chrome extension, according to ProctorU’s requirements page, and tablets aren’t supported at all. If any of your courses use Examplify, a Chromebook won’t run it, so a Windows or Mac laptop covers both.
Will financial aid pay for my laptop?
It can. The federal Student Aid Handbook for 2026–2027 says a school’s cost of attendance can include “a reasonable allowance for the rental or upfront purchase of a personal computer.” Ask your aid office how it handles graduate students. Our best laptop for PA school guide covers the same question for PA students.
What to do next
- Open your program’s technology page, find its exam tool, and note the Windows, Mac, RAM, webcam and microphone lines.
- Compare them with that tool’s page and follow the stricter one. Our Will it run? checker does this for a laptop you’re eyeing.
- Run a speed test from your exam desk. You want at least 3 Mbps up for ProctorU and Frontier.
- On a Windows laptop, run winver and check Settings > System > Activation for S mode the day it arrives.
- Take your first practice or mock exam in week one, with the camera and mic you’ll use on exam day.
Sources
- ExamSoft: Examplify Minimum System Requirements, checked October 18, 2026
- ExamSoft: Legacy Upcoming Features Releases (Examplify 3.11.2 notes), updated October 13, 2026, read October 18, 2026
- UTHSC: Examplify and MacBook Neo, important notice, March 23, 2026, read October 18, 2026
- Respondus: System requirements for Respondus Monitor, updated July 1, 2026, read October 18, 2026
- ProctorU: Equipment Requirements, read October 18, 2026
- Frontier Nursing University: Technology requirement, read October 18, 2026 (version history last dated September 29, 2025)
- Frontier Nursing University: Technology & Innovation, read October 18, 2026
- Saint Louis University School of Nursing: MSN nurse practitioner current students, read October 18, 2026
- Allen College: Graduate Nursing Technology Requirements (PDF), read October 18, 2026
- University of Cincinnati College of Nursing: Technology Resources & Requirements (graduate), read October 18, 2026
- Johns Hopkins School of Nursing: Laptop & Connectivity Requirement, read October 18, 2026
- Cizik School of Nursing, UTHealth Houston: Computer Requirements, read October 18, 2026
- Microsoft: End of support for Windows 10, read October 18, 2026
- Microsoft: Windows 11 in S mode FAQ, via our shortlist, checked October 18, 2026
- Microsoft Surface Pro tech specs and Surface Laptop tech specs, via our shortlist, checked October 18, 2026
- Federal Student Aid Handbook 2026–2027, Volume 3, Chapter 2: Cost of Attendance, read October 18, 2026
- Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 15 (15ARP10) at Best Buy, SKU 6674708, PSREF model page and PSREF spec sheet (battery claim), via our shortlist, checked October 22, 2026
- Dell XPS 13 (DX13260) on dell.com, Reviewed.com review, updated September 1, 2026 and Notebookcheck XPS 13 page, via our shortlist, checked October 18, 2026
- Apple MacBook Air specs, MacBook Air store and Notebookcheck MacBook Air 13 M5 review, March 7, 2026, via our shortlist, checked October 18, 2026
- Apple MacBook Neo specs, MacBook Neo store and Notebookcheck MacBook Neo review, March 14, 2026, via our shortlist, checked October 18, 2026
- Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 5i 16 at lenovo.com, PSREF spec sheet and Notebookcheck roundup (PCMag, PC World), via our shortlist, checked October 18, 2026 (lenovo.com price October 22, 2026)
- Logitech Brio 300, via our shortlist, checked October 18, 2026
- Anker 735 Charger (Nano II 65W), via our shortlist, checked October 18, 2026
- Dell 15 (D15261) on dell.com, Lenovo ThinkPad E14 Gen 8 (21Y6001HUS), Notebookcheck ThinkPad E14 G8 review and Lenovo Yoga 7i 2-in-1 at Best Buy, via our shortlist, checked October 18, 2026