Skip to content
LaptopOwners

We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. It never decides which laptop we pick. How we make money

Best Laptop for Dental School (and Dental Hygiene): Check This Before You Buy

Before you buy anything, find out whether your dental school issues or sells the laptop. UConn bills first-years for a school-issued Dell, and VCU’s dental school asks incoming hygiene students not to buy their own. If you do buy, the rule that trips people up is the Windows edition: 5 of the 8 dental schools we checked want Windows Pro, Education or Enterprise for BitLocker, which rules out Windows 11 Home. Our pick for most bring-your-own schools is the Dell 15 (D15261) ordered with Windows 11 Pro and 16 GB. If your school takes Macs, get the MacBook Air 13 (M5).

We may earn a commission from links on this page. It doesn’t change what we recommend. How we make money

Will your dental school give you a laptop?

Maybe. Of the 8 US dental schools whose laptop pages we read on October 18, 2026, one issues the laptop and seven expect you to bring your own.

UConn gives every dental student a new laptop that they keep after graduation (UConn Health). The Class of 2030 gets a Dell Precision 3490 with Windows 11 Pro and 32 GB (UConn spec page). It isn’t free: first-years are billed $1,413.09 for it, tax included, in fall 2026 (UConn bursar, 2026-27).

VCU’s School of Dentistry has incoming dental hygiene students buy through its IT office and asks them to “refrain from purchasing your own computer at this time” (VCU).

Mandated models aren’t new. In a 2018 Student Doctor Network thread, one dental student said their school required a Dell XPS 13 costing about $1,700 (SDN).

5 of 8 dental schools rule out Windows 11 Home Horizontal bar chart of what 8 US dental schools’ laptop pages say, read October 18, 2026. Bring your own laptop: 7. Rule out Windows 11 Home (want Pro, Education or Enterprise): 5. Require full-disk encryption: 5. Accept a Mac: 5. Still list Windows 10: 5. Name ExamSoft: 4. Rule out an iPad as the laptop: 4. Rule out Chromebooks: 3. Issue the laptop: 1. Ban ARM (Snapdragon) chips: 1. 5 of 8 dental schools rule out Windows 11 Home What 8 US dental schools’ laptop pages say (N = 8), read Oct 18, 2026 Bring your own laptop Rule out Windows 11 Home Require full-disk encryption Accept a Mac Still list Windows 10 Name ExamSoft Rule out an iPad as the laptop Rule out Chromebooks Issue the laptop Ban ARM (Snapdragon) chips 7 5 5 5 5 4 4 3 1 1 0 2 4 6 8 schools
Source: the eight dental school laptop pages linked in the table below, read October 18, 2026.

What your laptop has to pass

If your school issues the laptop, you’re done. If not, the Windows and encryption columns are where most store-bought laptops fail.

School Issued or BYOD Windows Mac Encryption Also says
UConn Issued (Dell Precision 3490) Win 11 Pro, preinstalled Not offered Encrypted with BitLocker Billed $1,413.09 in first year
Indiana (IU) BYOD (IU discount program) Win 10 Pro, Enterprise or Education macOS 10.15 or later Required 8 GB; must run ExamSoft and axiUm
Louisville BYOD Win 11 24H2+, Pro, Education or Enterprise Sonoma or later, M3 chip or newer Required No Chromebooks, iPads or S mode
Florida (UF) BYOD Win 10 22H2, Win 11 22H2 or 23H2; Pro or Education for BitLocker Ventura or later Required “a laptop (not an iPad or iPad hybrid)”; privacy filter for exams
Boston University BYOD Win 10 or 11, Pro or Enterprise Not compatible with most clinical apps Must support native encryption TPM chip recommended
UTHealth Houston Own laptop, checked at orientation Win 10 or 11, Education, Pro or Enterprise Monterey or later Required 8 GB, 13in screen, webcam, privacy filter
Augusta (DCG) BYOD Win 10 or 11, not S Big Sur to Sequoia Not stated Core i5, 8 GB; no iPads, Chromebooks or Surface Pros
ATSU Arizona (ASDOH) BYOD 64-bit Win 11, non-ARM Not addressed Not stated Core i7, 32 GB, RTX 4070 graphics

Pages read October 18, 2026. Dates on the pages: Louisville modified May 12, 2026; Augusta modified August 31, 2026; ATSU “Updated for 2026-27”; IU modified May 20, 2024; UTHealth updated January 9, 2024; UConn’s bursar page is for 2026-27. UF and BU show no date.

Chip names don’t always match. Louisville, Augusta and ATSU name Core i5 or i7 chips, but the 2026 Intel laptops on our shortlist are sold as Core 3, 5 or 7 or Core Ultra. If yours isn’t on the list, ask the school’s IT team.

Schools that test in Examplify also inherit ExamSoft’s rules, checked October 2026: 64-bit Windows 11 (certified on 24H2, 25H2 and 26H2), and “S mode is not compatible with Examplify.” Macs need macOS Sequoia, Tahoe or Golden Gate on an Intel, A18 or M-series chip. And “Examplify does not support touchscreen input on Mac or Windows laptops.” Re-check ExamSoft’s minimum system requirements before you buy, because they change each term. Our ExamSoft laptop guide covers the rest.

School pages lag the vendor. Five of the eight still list Windows 10, which lost Microsoft support on October 14, 2025 (Microsoft) and which ExamSoft no longer certifies. UF’s Windows 11 list stops at 23H2, which ExamSoft no longer certifies either. Where your school’s page and ExamSoft disagree, follow the stricter rule and ask the school.

Clinic software is the other reason schools are strict. IU sets its minimums to run ExamSoft and axiUm, the clinic records system. Augusta delivers axiUm through Citrix and notes that an October 2023 Apple update stopped iPads and iPhones from using it. BU says Macs and iPads aren’t compatible with most of its clinical applications.

Our picks at a glance

Pick for Laptop Why it’s here Key specs Examplify fit Price (source, date)
Best value with Windows Pro Dell 15 (D15261) Pro is an $80 option Core 3 304 base, 8 GB, 512 GB, 15.3in Runs with limits: order 16 GB $699.99 base, dell.com, Oct 18, 2026
Cheapest if your school upgrades Windows Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3i 15 (15IRU8) 16 GB and a Core i5 for under $500 Core i5-1335U, 16 GB, 256 GB, 15.6in Runs with limits: check it isn’t S mode $499.99, Best Buy, Oct 22, 2026 (sale)
Pro out of the box Lenovo ThinkPad E14 Gen 8 (Intel) Ships with Windows 11 Pro Core Ultra 7 355, 16 GB, 512 GB, 14in Runs $1,909, lenovo.com, Oct 21, 2026
Best Mac Apple MacBook Air 13 (M5) Clears every Mac chip and RAM line M5, 16 GB, 512 GB, 13.6in Runs $1,299 ($1,199 education), apple.com, Oct 18, 2026

Best value with Windows Pro: Dell 15 (D15261)

Dell sells Windows 11 Pro as an $80 option here, the cheapest way we found to buy a laptop that meets the Pro-or-Education line five of these schools set. The base Core 3 304 with one 8 GB stick is thin, so we’d add 16 GB (+$200), and the Core 5 320 (+$100) if your school names a Core i5. That’s about $1,080 before tax, by our sum of the option prices on dell.com, checked October 18, 2026.

The drawback: no full review yet. Notebookcheck’s launch report says every configuration shares a 400-nit panel with a narrow 45% NTSC color range. Dell’s page doesn’t state the webcam either, and UTHealth requires one.

budgetDell 15 (D15261, 2026)Intel Core 3 304 (base); Core 5 320 +$100, Core 7 350 +$200 · 8 GB RAM · 512 GB SSD · 15.3" screen · 3.39 lbRuns Examplify, with a caveatx86, Windows 11 Home, not S mode. Base config has 8 GB (single 1x8 GB module): fine for Examplify (4 GB minimum) and meets the 8 GB ExamMonitor recommendation, but tight for ExamMonitor plus a browser. Dell offers a 16 GB upgrade for +$200 (the page lists the add-on, not a total).
$699.99Price at dell.com, checked Oct 21, 2026Check price on Amazon

Cheapest if your school upgrades Windows: Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3i 15 (15IRU8)

Louisville offers students an upgrade from Windows 11 Home to Education, and UF’s help desk can upgrade Home too. If your school does that, this is the cheapest laptop on our list with 16 GB (Best Buy, October 22, 2026). It’s a 2023 model with a 13th-gen Core i5-1335U, the minimum chip Louisville names.

Two catches. Best Buy doesn’t show the Windows edition, and Lenovo lists S mode versions for this family, so check the listing says “Windows 11 Home” without “in S mode”, or switch out on day one, which Microsoft says is free and one-way (Microsoft). And its 256 GB SSD is Louisville’s minimum, half the 512 GB we’d like; the memory is soldered and the screen is a 250-nit TN panel (Lenovo PSREF).

Skip it for UTHealth Houston, which doesn’t approve Lenovo laptops, citing State of Texas technology restrictions (UTHealth nursing). The dental school’s 2024 PDF doesn’t mention it.

budgetLenovo IdeaPad Slim 3i 15IRU8, model 82X700KEUS (2023)Intel Core i5-1335U (10 cores: 2 P + 8 E, 12 threads) · 16 GB RAM · 256 GB SSD · 15.6" screen · 3.57 lbRuns Examplify, with a caveatx86 Windows 11 with 16 GB passes Examplify only if it isn't in S mode; Best Buy doesn't show the edition and PSREF lists S mode options. 2023 model.
$499.99Price at bestbuy.com, checked Oct 22, 2026Check price on Amazon

Pro out of the box: Lenovo ThinkPad E14 Gen 8 (Intel)

It arrives with Windows 11 Pro, so BitLocker is there on day one. It pairs a Core Ultra 7 355 with 16 GB in a removable stick, a second RAM slot (up to 64 GB, per Lenovo’s PSREF) and a free second SSD slot.

The drawback is price: $1,909 for this configuration (21Y6001HUS) on lenovo.com, checked October 21, 2026. Notebookcheck’s review of the AMD version praised the keyboard and battery life but measured the 1920×1200 screen at about 45% NTSC. It’s a Lenovo, so it’s out at UTHealth Houston too.

midLenovo ThinkPad E14 Gen 8 (14in Intel), model 21Y6001HUSIntel Core Ultra 7 355 (Panther Lake) · 16 GB RAM · 512 GB SSD · 14" screen · 2.95 lbRuns Examplifyx86, Windows 11 Pro (BitLocker), 16 GB in a SODIMM slot (Panther Lake models have two slots). Price is far above the $800-$1,300 band: $1,909 for this pre-built SKU; lenovo.com's E14 Gen 8 Intel page carries a $1,419 figure that isn't tied to a configuration.
$1,909.00Price at lenovo.com, checked Oct 21, 2026Check price on Amazon

Best Mac: Apple MacBook Air 13 (M5)

Five of the eight schools accept a Mac, and this model clears every Mac chip and memory line we read, including Louisville’s M3 minimum. Augusta’s macOS list stops at Sequoia, so ask Augusta about newer versions. It has 16 GB and 512 GB, and FileVault covers the encryption rule (Apple). Price: $1,299 at apple.com, or $1,199 with education pricing, checked October 18, 2026.

Drawbacks: Notebookcheck’s review found multi-core speed drops under sustained load and listed the 60 Hz display among its drawbacks. RAM and storage are soldered. And skip it for Boston University, which says Macs aren’t compatible with most of its clinical applications.

macApple MacBook Air 13-inch (M5, 2026)Apple M5 (10-core CPU, 8-core GPU) · 8-core GPU · 16 GB unified memory · 512 GB SSD · 13.6" screen · 2.7 lbRuns ExamplifyM-series Mac, 16 GB: meets ExamSoft's Mac rules. Turn on FileVault if your program asks for full-disk encryption. Education price $1,199. Memory can be configured to 24 or 32 GB at purchase only.
$1,299.00Price at apple.com, checked Oct 21, 2026Check price on Amazon

Windows 11 Home vs Pro: the encryption rule

If your school’s page says Pro, Education or Enterprise, Windows 11 Home won’t pass, even though it can encrypt a drive. Microsoft says standard BitLocker comes with Pro, Enterprise and Education (Microsoft). Home gets “device encryption”, which switches on automatically only if the hardware qualifies and you sign in with a Microsoft or work or school account. Louisville is blunt: “BitLocker is only available on Win 11 Pro, Education and Enterprise versions.”

Windows 11 Home Windows 11 Pro, Education or Enterprise
Standard BitLocker No Yes
Device encryption Yes, if the hardware qualifies Yes
Meets IU, Louisville, UF, BU and UTHealth No Yes
How to get it Ships on most consumer laptops Dell 15: +$80 at checkout. Louisville and UF: school upgrade from Home

On a Mac, the equivalent is FileVault; turn it on in System Settings > Privacy & Security.

Best laptop for dental hygiene school

Check first here too, and find out which exam software your program uses, because that decides which laptops are safe. Four programs, read October 18, 2026:

Program What it asks for Exam software
VCU School of Dentistry Buy through the school; don’t buy your own Not stated
Louisville The school-wide rules above apply to “all incoming students” ExamSoft
Pacific University Examplify on a computer or iPad; library lends laptops with it Examplify
Wiregrass Georgia Technical College “A tablet or laptop” brought to class daily Respondus LockDown Browser

Respondus is less strict than Examplify: it rules out S mode and wants 4 GB of available RAM for webcam exams, but runs on Chromebooks and iPads (Respondus, updated July 1, 2026). We’d still skip the Chromebook, because Examplify won’t run on one if a course switches.

iPad or laptop for dental school?

Buy a laptop first; an iPad is a second device for notes. UF requires “a laptop (not an iPad or iPad hybrid)”, and Louisville, Augusta and BU rule iPads out as the main machine. ExamSoft has an iPad app, but whether you may use it is your school’s call.

Several posters in that 2018 SDN thread took notes on an iPad, some with an Apple Pencil. A touchscreen 2-in-1 can do the same, but the pen is for notes only: Examplify takes no touchscreen input.

Laptops to stay away from for dental school

  • Anything in S mode, unless you switch out on day one. “S mode is not compatible with Examplify,” and Louisville, UF and Augusta rule it out.
  • Chromebooks. “Examplify will not run on Chromebooks, Android, or Linux operating systems.” Louisville, Augusta and UTHealth rule them out.
  • An iPad as your only computer. See the section above.
  • Snapdragon laptops and Surface tablets where your school bans them. ATSU requires a non-ARM processor, Augusta rules out Surface Pros and UTHealth says Surface tablets aren’t enough. Consumer Surfaces are Snapdragon-only as of October 2026.
  • Windows 11 Home at a Pro-or-Education school, unless you upgrade before orientation.
  • A Mac at Boston University, or any Mac below an M3 at Louisville.
  • A Lenovo at UTHealth Houston, which cites State of Texas technology restrictions.

How we chose

We read each school’s laptop page first and kept only laptops that meet the common lines: 64-bit Windows 11 on an Intel chip or a recent Mac, 16 GB, 512 GB (256 GB on our cheapest pick), and a route to BitLocker or FileVault. Then we compared maker and retailer prices (checked October 18 to 22, 2026) and read independent reviews, mostly Notebookcheck. We haven’t tested these laptops ourselves; how we work explains the method, which our PA school guide shares. To check a laptop you already own, try the Will it run? checker.

Who we wouldn’t shortlist (yet)

  • Apple MacBook Neo. ExamSoft’s release notes (page updated October 13, 2026) say Examplify 3.11.2 adds MacBook Neo support, but UTHSC told students on March 23, 2026 not to use it until certification was done (UTHSC). Its A18 Pro isn’t the M3 Louisville asks for, and its 8 GB can’t be upgraded. Our Examplify compatibility page has the full timeline.
  • Microsoft Surface Laptop (8th Edition). Google pairs Surfaces with dental school searches, but consumer models run Snapdragon X2 (ARM) and ship with Windows 11 Home. Intel models come only in the business line, from $2,299.99 (Microsoft).
  • Anything for ATSU’s Arizona program. It asks for a Core i7, 32 GB and an RTX 4070, which is gaming-laptop territory. Nothing on our list meets it, and we haven’t sourced one yet.

FAQ

Which laptop is best for dental students?

The one your school issues, if it issues one. Otherwise, an Intel Windows 11 laptop with 16 GB and Windows Pro or Education, or a 16 GB MacBook Air where Macs are allowed. Our picks: the Dell 15 with the Pro option and the MacBook Air 13 (M5).

What is the best Windows laptop for dental school?

One with Windows 11 Pro, or one your school will upgrade, because five of the eight schools we checked want Pro, Education or Enterprise. The ThinkPad E14 Gen 8 ships with Pro; the Dell 15 adds it for $80.

Can I use a MacBook in dental school?

At most schools, yes: five of the eight we read accept a Mac. Boston University doesn’t, and UConn issues a Windows laptop. Check for a minimum chip, such as Louisville’s M3, and turn on FileVault.

What to buy for dental hygiene school?

Find out which exam software your program uses. If it’s Examplify, buy as a dental student would; the IdeaPad Slim 3i 15IRU8 (under $500 on October 22, 2026) is the floor we’d go to, and it also meets Respondus’s rules once it’s out of S mode.

How much RAM do I need for dental school?

8 GB is the minimum at IU, Louisville, BU, UTHealth and Augusta, but we’d buy 16 GB, which Louisville recommends. ATSU’s Arizona program is the outlier at 32 GB.

Does financial aid cover a laptop for dental school?

Often, but ask first. Louisville includes the laptop in your cost of attendance, and ATSU says its cost of attendance includes an allocation for it. UConn puts it on your first-year bill.

What to do next

  1. Open your school’s incoming-student or IT page and find out whether the laptop is issued, sold by the school, or yours to buy.
  2. Note the Windows edition line, the encryption line and any Mac or iPad rule.
  3. On a Windows laptop you already own, press Windows+R and type winver to see the edition and version.
  4. Ask financial aid to add the laptop to your cost of attendance before you buy.
  5. Install Examplify when your school sends the link, and take the first practice exam on the laptop you’ll use all year.

Sources

More students & schools guides