Skip to content
LaptopOwners

We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. It never decides which laptop we pick. How we make money

Is a Laptop Extended Warranty Worth It? Geek Squad, AppleCare+ and Maker Plans Compared From Their Terms

It depends on what the plan adds, and for most laptops that’s accident cover. The maker’s standard warranty covers defects for a year and excludes accidents, so an extended plan mostly buys repairs for drops, spills and cracked screens, plus later years.

On October 22, 2026, AppleCare+ for the 13-inch MacBook Air cost under $80 a year, plus a fee for each accident. Best Buy prices Geek Squad Protection per product and shows the price at checkout. Whether a plan pays off depends on its cost, its fees and what one repair would cost you. We set out the terms below; we don’t tell you whether to buy.

We may earn a commission from links on this page. It doesn’t change what we recommend. How we make money

What your laptop’s standard warranty already covers

Defects, for about a year, and not much else. Best Buy says “Manufacturer warranties are typically good for one year” (Best Buy).

Apple’s US warranty covers “defects in materials and workmanship” for “ONE (1) YEAR from the date of original retail purchase.” It excludes “damage caused by accident, abuse, misuse, fire, liquid contact” and “defects caused by normal wear and tear” (Apple). Lenovo sells the IdeaPad Slim 5i 16 with “1 Year Courier or Carry-in.”

So a plan fills three gaps: accidents, the years after the first, and, on some plans, a worn battery.

The plans, compared from their own terms

Plan Price for one laptop Length Accidents Fee or limit per claim Who repairs
AppleCare+, 13-inch MacBook Air “$74.99/yr” or “$7.49/mo.”; “$67.99/yr” on Apple’s education store “until cancelled” “Unlimited repairs for accidents like drops and spills” “$99 for screen or enclosure accidental damage”; “$299 for other accidental damage” Apple, authorized providers, onsite or mail-in
Geek Squad Protection Shown per product at checkout Not stated on pages we could read Accidental Damage from Handling plans exist Not stated on pages we could read The maker, for most repairs during its warranty; after that, not stated
Best Buy Protection Included with My Best Buy Total, “$199.99/year” “up to 24 months,” while a member “Some products” $79 ($500–$999.99 laptop), $99 ($1,000 and up); two claims per 12 months Best Buy: “a repair, replacement or store credit”
Lenovo ADP Not listed on the page Warranty extendable “by up to five years” “spills, bumps, power surges, cracked screens” “Unlimited claims with no additional repair fees” Technicians using “Lenovo-certified parts”
Dell Care Premium Added at checkout Not stated “drops, spills and electrical surges” “Limit of 1 qualified incident per contract year” Onsite after remote diagnosis, or return to Dell
HP Care Pack Didn’t load for us “from 1 year to 3 years” “Accidental Damage Coverage” add-on Not stated Pickup or on the spot
Amex extended warranty Comes with eligible cards “up to 1 additional year” No, “physical damage” is excluded Up to $10,000 per item Amex pays approved claims, as a card credit or check

Sources: each company’s own pages, read October 22, 2026. AppleCare+ prices from Apple’s store price data for parts SD2V3, SD303 and SD5G3; fees from AppleCare Fees and Deductibles. Prices change; check the live quote for your laptop.

Is AppleCare+ worth it for a MacBook?

On paper, it pays off only if your repairs would cost more than the plan plus its fees. Here is what the plan costs for the 13-inch Air if you keep it three years, by our arithmetic.

Three years of AppleCare+ for a 13-inch MacBook Air: $204 to $270 before any fee Horizontal bar chart of what three years of AppleCare+ for the 13-inch MacBook Air M5 cost at October 22, 2026 prices, our arithmetic. Paid monthly at 7.49 dollars: 269.64 dollars. Paid annually at 74.99 dollars: 224.97 dollars. Paid annually on Apple’s education store at 67.99 dollars: 203.97 dollars, highlighted as the cheapest. Each accident adds a fee: 99 dollars for screen or enclosure damage, 299 dollars for other accidental damage. Battery service below 80 percent capacity has no fee. Three years of AppleCare+ for a 13-inch MacBook Air: $204 to $270 before any fee Apple’s October 22, 2026 prices times three years; our arithmetic Monthly, $7.49 x 36 Annual, $74.99 x 3 Education, $67.99 x 3 $269.64 $224.97 $203.97 $0 $100 $200 $300 Each accident adds a fee: $99 for screen or enclosure damage; $299 for other accidental damage. Battery service when capacity falls below 80 percent: no fee. Apple can change prices; plans run “until cancelled.”
Sources: Apple store price data for AppleCare+ parts SD303, SD2V3 and SD5G3 (AppleCare), AppleCare Fees and Deductibles, read October 22, 2026.

The plan covers “Unlimited repairs for accidents like drops and spills,” and battery service “If your Mac battery holds less than 80 percent of the original capacity,” with no fee (Apple). Apple can send a technician, take the Mac at a store or one of “more than 5,000 Apple Authorized Service Providers worldwide,” or have you mail it in.

What we couldn’t show is the other side of the sum. Apple’s repair pages didn’t show our tools an out-of-warranty price for the MacBook Air, so ask Apple or an authorized provider for a screen and battery estimate before you decide. You have time: “For 60 days after a new Apple purchase, you can get a new plan through the Settings app.” Students pay less on the education store, and Apple’s own terms decide who qualifies for the education discount.

Is Geek Squad Protection worth it for a laptop?

We can tell you what Best Buy’s readable pages say, not the price. Best Buy’s robots.txt blocks our tools from its plan pages, and no laptop plan price showed to our tools anywhere else. Best Buy shows the price per product at checkout, so check it there for your exact laptop.

Here is what Best Buy states (FAQ and computer plans page):

  • “both your product and the specific Geek Squad Protection Plan need to be purchased from Best Buy.”
  • “you have 60 days after your purchase to add Geek Squad Protection.” To add an Accidental Damage from Handling plan later, you bring the item into a store.
  • “During the original manufacturer’s warranty period, most repairs will be handled by the manufacturer.” The plan doesn’t cover “Parts and coverage available under the manufacturer’s warranty.”
  • Products are covered “up to the regular retail price found on the receipt.”
  • Replacements “may be new or refurbished,” or come “in the form of a store credit, gift card or check.”
  • “Geek Squad Protection Plans are not renewable,” and a plan “cannot be transferred from one product to another,” except to a replacement from the maker.
  • “Federal Warranty Service Corporation is the Obligor and Administrator of this Plan” in every state except Florida (United Service Protection, Inc.) and Oklahoma (Assurant Service Protection, Inc.).

Is the 2-year Geek Squad Protection worth it?

Our reading of those terms: for defects, the first year mostly overlaps the maker’s warranty, so a two-year plan’s defect cover is mainly the second year. Best Buy’s side: the plan “often covers important repairs that your manufacturer warranty doesn’t, even during the manufacturer’s warranty period.” Accident cover is the bigger difference, and only some plans include it. Ask which plan you’re buying and read its terms at the counter.

What is the difference between Geek Squad Protection and Best Buy Protection?

Geek Squad Protection is bought per product. Best Buy Protection comes with the My Best Buy Total membership and covers “up to 24 months of product protection on most Best Buy purchases while the membership is active.” Cancel the membership and you cancel “any remaining months of protection plan(s).” It allows “up to two covered claims every 12 months,” with a fee set by the product’s price once the maker’s warranty ends, and it includes AppleCare+ for most new Apple products bought at Best Buy (Best Buy).

Lenovo, Dell and HP: the makers’ own plans

Each maker sells longer cover and accident cover, and none showed a price for a named laptop to our tools.

Lenovo. Accidental Damage Protection “Covers spills, bumps, power surges, cracked screens, and more,” with “Unlimited claims with no additional repair fees.” Lenovo lets you “Extend your warranty by up to five years,” and says “Some upgrades, like Accidental Damage Protection, can only be added within ninety days of purchase.” Premium Care Plus adds onsite visits “if required” and “a 3-year sealed battery warranty” (Lenovo).

Dell. Dell Care Premium includes “Accidental Damage Service” for damage “due to drops, spills and electrical surges,” with “no hidden fees or deductible” but a “Limit of 1 qualified incident per contract year.” It excludes “theft, loss, and damage due to fire, flood or other acts of nature, or intentional damage” (Dell, page dated July 2026).

HP. Care Packs “Extend your PC coverage from 1 year to 3 years,” with optional “Accidental Damage Coverage.” HP adds: “Service starts at date of hardware purchase” (HP). If you own an older HP, check its warranty status with the serial number before you price a Care Pack, especially if you’re seeing HP laptop problems after a year.

How credit card extended warranties work

Some cards add time to the maker’s warranty, but they don’t cover accidents. We read one issuer’s guide, American Express’s Extended Warranty Benefit Guide (Rev. 4/19/2024).

It says the maker’s warranty “can be extended up to 1 additional year when you use your Eligible Card,” and “Applies to warranties of 5 years or less.” Cover tops out at “Up to $10,000 per Covered Purchase” and “Up to $50,000 per Eligible Card” a year. The extra year “begins after the longer of the Original Manufacturer’s Warranty coverage and/or Purchase Service Contract expiration.”

The exclusions matter for laptops. The guide excludes “physical damage” unless the maker’s warranty covers it, and “previously owned and used items (except when refurbished by the original manufacturer).” It also excludes cover where the maker’s warranty plus a paid plan “exceeds five (5) years.” Only cards “designated as eligible” by American Express get it (Amex).

Other issuers publish their own guides with their own terms. Find yours in your card’s benefits documents before you count on it.

What does an extended warranty not cover?

Read each plan’s exclusions before you pay. In the terms we read, the gaps were:

  • Theft and loss. Dell excludes them, and Apple’s page lists theft and loss cover only for iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch.
  • Repairs the maker already covers. Geek Squad Protection steps back during the maker’s warranty.
  • Physical damage on card benefits. The Amex guide excludes it.
  • Claim limits. Dell allows one incident a year, and Best Buy Protection two claims every 12 months.

Rugged use is a separate question from cover, since a durable laptop for kids still needs accident cover for spills. If you travel, ask whether the plan works abroad, which matters most for digital nomads.

Our picks

Pick for Laptop Plan to price Price (store, date)
Mac Apple MacBook Air 13 (M5), 16 GB, 512 GB AppleCare+, in the table above $1,299, apple.com, Oct 22, 2026
Windows Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 5i 16 (83J1002LUS) “1 Year Courier or Carry-in”; Lenovo sells upgrades, priced per model $929.99, lenovo.com, Oct 22, 2026 (sale)

We picked one Mac and one Windows laptop from our shortlist whose makers publish their plan terms. We haven’t tested these laptops; how we work explains our sources. Check the current price, and the plan price for your exact model.

macApple MacBook Air 13-inch (M5, 2026)Apple M5 (10-core CPU, 8-core GPU) · 8-core GPU · 16 GB unified memory · 512 GB SSD · 13.6" screen · 2.7 lb
$1,299.00Price at apple.com, checked Oct 21, 2026Check price on Amazon
largeLenovo IdeaPad Slim 5i 16 Gen 10 (16IRH10R), part 83J1002LUSIntel Core 5 210H (8 cores, 12 threads) · 16 GB RAM · 512 GB SSD · 16" screen · 4.08 lb
$929.99Price at lenovo.com, checked Oct 22, 2026Check price on Amazon

If you’re buying refurbished or open-box, the seller’s warranty comes first; see our refurbished guide and Best Buy open-box guide.

FAQ

How much does a 5-year extended warranty cost?

Lenovo offers extensions “by up to five years,” and its page lists no prices, so check the price for your model when you buy. AppleCare+ runs until cancelled, so five years of the annual plan costs five times the yearly price in our table, if Apple doesn’t change it.

What are two reasons not to buy an extended warranty?

From the terms: the first year often overlaps the maker’s own warranty, and fees and claim limits cut what you get back. Neither settles it for you; compare the plan’s cost and fee with a real repair estimate.

Is an extended warranty a rip-off?

The terms can’t answer that, and we don’t give financial advice. What they show is the price, the fee per claim and the exclusions, which you can set against the maker’s repair estimate.

What does Geek Squad Protection not cover?

Its readable pages exclude parts the maker’s warranty covers, and say “Certain exclusions apply.” The full list is in Best Buy’s plan terms, which our tools can’t read, so ask for them before you buy.

What to do next

  1. Look up your laptop’s warranty end date with its serial number on the maker’s site.
  2. Ask the maker for a repair estimate for a screen and a battery.
  3. Get the plan price for your exact laptop inside each window: 60 days for AppleCare+ (through Settings) and for Geek Squad Protection, 90 days for Lenovo’s accident cover.
  4. Read each plan’s fee, claim limit and exclusions.
  5. Check your credit card’s benefit guide for an extended warranty.
  6. Got a repair quote for an old laptop? Our repair-or-replace calculator weighs it against the price of a new one.

Sources

All read October 22, 2026, unless a date is given.

More guides guides