Skip to content
LaptopOwners

We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. It never decides which laptop we pick. How we make money

Is a Refurbished Laptop Worth It? Warranty Terms From Apple, Dell, Lenovo, HP, Best Buy, Amazon and Back Market

Yes, when the seller puts a real warranty in writing and the discount beats what you give up. On October 22, 2026, Apple’s refurbished 13-inch MacBook Air M5 (16 GB, 512 GB) cost about 15% less than the same laptop new from Apple, and it came with Apple’s one-year warranty. Lenovo Outlet and Dell’s own Outlet also promise the same warranty as a new laptop.

The weaker deals have short cover: 100 days at Dell Refurbished, and 90 days in Best Buy’s refurbished condition guide. We couldn’t read Amazon’s Renewed Guarantee at all, because amazon.com blocks our tools.

We may earn a commission from links on this page. It doesn’t change what we recommend. How we make money

Every seller’s terms, side by side

These are the terms each seller states on its own pages. Where a page is silent, the cell says so.

Seller Warranty, in the seller’s words Returns Grades Battery promise Who fixes it
Apple Certified Refurbished “Apple’s one-year limited warranty”; AppleCare can be added 14 days from delivery One condition Not stated for Macs Apple
Dell Outlet (dell.com) “The same warranty we offer with new computers” “A 30 day return policy” Like New, Scratch & Dent, New & Unused Not stated Dell
Dell Refurbished (Dell Financial Services) “100-day limited warranty”; 360 days for $49 on a laptop 30 days from invoice; a 15% restocking fee may apply if not defective Grade A, Grade B Batteries excluded Ships you a refurbished part to fit, with phone help
Lenovo Outlet “the same standard 1-year warranty”, upgradable “to up to 3 years” 14 calendar days from invoice Not stated Not stated Lenovo
Best Buy refurbished “90-day warranty” on the listings we read 15 days; 60 for paid members Excellent, Good “At least 80% battery capacity” Not stated
Amazon Renewed Renewed Guarantee; terms not readable to us Not readable Sellers must show “Excellent” condition to join Not readable The seller handles claims
Back Market Seller’s 12-month warranty, “not provided by Back Market” 30 days from delivery, free Fair, Good, Excellent, Premium 85% minimum on laptops The seller
Human-I-T (nonprofit) “1-Year Hardware Warranty” from arrival 60 days from order Not stated Not stated Human-I-T
HP Business Outlet “one-year limited warranty” “10 days from delivery” Not stated Not stated HP

Sources: each seller’s own pages, read October 22, 2026; HP’s page carries a January 30, 2025 date in its metadata. Apple’s “new battery and outer shell” line covers refurbished “iOS devices”; it says nothing about Mac batteries. Best Buy’s returns come from its return policy (effective February 23, 2026).

Five sellers state a one-year warranty; Best Buy’s refurbished guide says 90 days Horizontal bar chart of the standard warranty length each refurbished seller states, in months, read October 22, 2026. Apple Certified Refurbished 12 months. Lenovo Outlet 12 months, upgradable to 36 at extra cost. Back Market 12 months, provided by the seller. Human-I-T 12 months. HP Business Outlet 12 months. Dell Refurbished 100 days, about 3.3 months, or 360 days for 49 dollars on a laptop. Best Buy refurbished listings 90 days, 3 months, highlighted as the shortest. Dell Outlet says the same warranty as new without giving a length. Amazon Renewed: terms not readable to our tools. Five sellers state a one-year warranty; Best Buy’s refurbished guide says 90 days Standard warranty each seller states, in months; read October 22, 2026 Apple Certified Refurbished Lenovo Outlet Back Market (seller’s) Human-I-T HP Business Outlet Dell Refurbished Best Buy refurbished Dell Outlet Amazon Renewed 12 12 (36 paid) 12 12 12 100 days (360 for $49) 90 days “Same as new”, length not stated Not readable to our tools 0 3 6 9 12 Back Market’s warranty comes from the seller, not Back Market. Best Buy’s figure is from the condition guide on the listings we read; it says length “varies by condition.”
Sources: Apple, Lenovo Outlet, Back Market, Human-I-T, HP Business Outlet, Dell Refurbished, Best Buy listing, Dell Outlet, read October 22, 2026.

Is buying a refurbished laptop a good or bad idea?

It’s a good idea when three things line up: a written warranty of a year, a return window long enough to test the laptop, and a real price gap. The maker-run stores meet all three most often.

On the MacBook Air above, the gap was about 15%. That matches Apple’s own line that refurbished products come “with special savings of up to 15%” (Apple). Apple also says every unit gets “genuine Apple replacement parts (as needed)” and is “thoroughly cleaned and inspected.”

What is the disadvantage of a refurbished laptop?

Shorter cover, battery wear, older chips and restocking fees are the catches we found. Each shows up in the terms or the listing if you read them.

  • Short warranties. Dell Refurbished gives 100 days unless you pay for its 360-day extension at checkout (Dell Refurbished).
  • Batteries. Dell Refurbished’s warranty excludes “Expendable items such as batteries.” Best Buy’s guide promises “At least 80% battery capacity,” and Back Market’s laptop grades say “minimum 85% battery capacity” (Back Market).
  • Older processors. Microsoft’s list of Intel chips for Windows 11 starts its Core line at the 8th generation (Microsoft, updated October 30, 2025). A “Refurbished Excellent” Dell Latitude 7480 on Best Buy named only “Intel i5” in its title. Look up the exact chip before you buy.
  • Restocking fees. Dell Refurbished may charge “15% of the actual price you paid” on a return that isn’t defective (Dell Refurbished). Lenovo applies a 15% restocking fee outside its return window.

Students have one more check. Some colleges want longer cover; MIT’s IT office, for example, recommends a “4-year extended warranty with accident coverage with walk-in repairs” (MIT IS&T). Check your own college’s IT page before you buy, since college laptop requirements vary, and engineering programs often set their own.

What the discount looks like, with dated prices

The clearest test is one laptop priced every way on the same day.

Apple’s refurbished MacBook Air M5 was $200 under Apple’s new price Horizontal bar chart of the same 13-inch MacBook Air M5 with 16 GB and 512 GB, priced five ways on October 22, 2026. New at apple.com: 1,299 dollars. New on Apple’s education store: 1,199 dollars. New at Best Buy on sale: 1,149 dollars, our arithmetic from Best Buy’s Save 150 dollars and 1,299 dollar comparable value. Apple Certified Refurbished: 1,099 dollars with Apple’s one-year warranty, highlighted. Best Buy open-box, bottom of its listed range: 1,027.99 dollars. Apple’s refurbished MacBook Air M5 was $200 under Apple’s new price 13-inch MacBook Air M5, 16 GB, 512 GB; prices October 22, 2026 New, apple.com New, Apple education store New, Best Buy (sale) Apple Certified Refurbished Best Buy open-box (from) $1,299 $1,199 $1,149 $1,099 $1,027.99 $0 $500 $1,000 $1,500 Best Buy’s new price is ours: its $1,299 comparable value less “Save $150.” Open-box is a different condition with different rules. Best Buy prices were read by our tools, not in a browser.
Sources: Apple Certified Refurbished FDHE4LL/A, apple.com MacBook Air and Apple’s education store price for part MDHE4LL/A, Best Buy SKU 6397846, all October 22, 2026.

Two things stand out. Apple’s education price sits between the new and refurbished prices, with a new laptop’s full warranty; Apple’s own terms decide who qualifies for the education discount. And a Best Buy sale narrowed the gap further, so check the current price everywhere before you settle on refurbished.

Other examples from that day:

Seller Laptop Price (store, date)
Apple Certified Refurbished MacBook Neo with Touch ID, 8 GB, 512 GB $679, apple.com, Oct 22, 2026
Dell Refurbished Latitude 5540, Core i5-1335U, 16 GB, 512 GB, Windows 11 Pro, Grade A $619 sale ($1,029 crossed out), dellrefurbished.com, Oct 22, 2026
Human-I-T “Get it Done” Windows laptop, i5-8250U, 8 GB, 256 GB, 14-inch $259.99, or $199.99 at Gold Membership pricing, store.human-i-t.org, Oct 22, 2026

Refurbished stock and prices change daily, so check the live listing. The Dell’s $1,029 is the crossed-out price on Dell Refurbished’s own listing, not a new-laptop price. Lenovo Outlet’s and Dell Outlet’s product lists didn’t load for our tools, and Back Market’s listing pages refused them, so we have no prices from those three.

Dell Outlet vs Dell Refurbished: two different stores

They aren’t the same thing. Dell Outlet lives on dell.com and sells refurbished, “previously ordered new” and scratch-and-dent laptops with “The same warranty we offer with new computers” and “A 30 day return policy” (Dell Outlet, page dated October 2026).

Dell Refurbished, at dellrefurbished.com, is run by Dell Financial Services. Its warranty is 100 days, batteries are excluded, and a covered fault gets “a refurbished replacement part” shipped to you, with phone help to fit it (Dell Refurbished). Its grades are cosmetic only: Grade B is “functionally equivalent to Grade A” with the same warranty (grades).

Our reading: if the same model shows up in both, the Outlet’s terms are stronger. Compare prices after adding the cost of Dell Refurbished’s 360-day extension.

Is Lenovo Outlet worth it?

On warranty, yes: Lenovo says its Certified Refurbished laptops “come with the same standard 1-year warranty and support that is available for new devices,” with upgrades “to up to 3 years” (Lenovo Outlet). Lenovo-certified technicians test each part and repair “using original parts.”

Returns are the catch. Lenovo lists “Lenovo Outlet – 14 calendar days,” against 30 days at lenovo.com, and a 15% restocking fee after that (Lenovo shopping FAQ). If you travel, check whether a refurbished warranty works abroad before you buy, which matters most for digital nomads.

Is Amazon Renewed reliable for laptops?

We can’t judge it from Amazon’s own terms. Amazon.com’s robots.txt blocks our tools, so we couldn’t open the Renewed Guarantee page, and we don’t route around a block.

What Amazon tells sellers is readable. Renewed sellers confirm that their company “backs all of your refurbished products with the Amazon Renewed Guarantee and is responsible for all claims under the guarantee” (Amazon seller page). Products “must be inspected, repaired, cleaned, tested, and repackaged,” and must be listed at least 5% below the new price. Sellers are also told not to mention warranties in titles or descriptions.

So, under Amazon’s seller rules, the seller is responsible for claims under the guarantee. Before you buy, open the guarantee link on the listing, note its length and the seller’s name, and screenshot both.

Best Buy refurbished, Marketplace and “Upgraded” listings

These are three different things on bestbuy.com, and the warranty differs for each.

Geek Squad Refurbished, sold by Best Buy. The one we read had a seven-digit SKU and “Sold by” Best Buy. Its condition guide listed “Light wear,” “At least 80% battery capacity” and “90-day warranty” for the Good grade. It says “Warranty length varies by condition” and doesn’t say who backs it (Best Buy). Returns are 15 days, or 60 for My Best Buy Plus and Total members.

Marketplace listings. Best Buy’s terms say the Marketplace Seller handles “all processing, shipping, and customer service” (Best Buy terms, updated September 25, 2026). Its return policy adds that members’ longer windows “do not apply to any Marketplace purchases.” The Latitude 7480 listing above had an eight-digit SKU, a “90-day warranty” line and no seller name visible to us.

“Upgraded” listings. A seller opens a laptop, adds memory or storage, and resells it. On October 21, 2026, an Upgraded Dell Pro 16 listing said “1 Year warranty from IST Computers” and “Warranty is managed directly through the seller instead of the manufacturer.” A day later the warranty line was gone, and the page said “Unavailable from this seller” (Best Buy).

Back Market and Human-I-T

Back Market is a marketplace, and its warranty page says so plainly: “This Limited Warranty is not provided by Back Market, but by the Seller.” It runs 12 months from delivery and excludes accidents (Back Market). Back Market says its grades, from Fair (“signs of wear including scratches and dents”) to Premium, are “based on their cosmetic condition.” Change-of-mind returns are free for 30 days from delivery (Back Market help).

Human-I-T calls itself a nonprofit, and many of the laptops it sells were donated and refurbished (Human-I-T). It gives a one-year hardware warranty from arrival and 60-day returns (returns). Households in any of 13 programs, including SNAP and Medicaid, or at or below 200% of the poverty line get deeper discounts (eligibility). Some of its laptops are sold as a spec range, such as “Intel Core (10th–11th Gen),” rather than a named model.

Which site is best for refurbished laptops?

By the terms, the maker’s own store for the brand you want: Apple Certified Refurbished for a Mac, Lenovo Outlet for a Lenovo, and Dell Outlet before Dell Refurbished. They promise a new laptop’s warranty and service the laptop themselves.

Marketplaces can be cheaper, but the warranty belongs to whoever sold it. That’s fine if you know the seller’s name and keep its terms.

How long will a refurbished laptop last?

No seller we read publishes a lifespan, and we didn’t find a readable survey of refurbished laptops. The warranty is the length of time the seller will stand behind it.

The battery is the part you can check. Apple designs the M5 MacBook Air’s battery to keep “up to 80% of its original charge capacity” at 1,000 cycles (Apple). Apple’s page rates the older MacBook Air M4 at 1,000 cycles too, so check the cycle count on any refurbished Mac.

Our picks

Pick for Laptop Why it’s here Price (store, date)
Refurbished Mac MacBook Air 13 (M5), Apple Certified Refurbished, 16 GB, 512 GB Apple’s one-year warranty and returns; AppleCare can be added $1,099, apple.com, Oct 22, 2026
Same laptop, new MacBook Air 13 (M5), 16 GB, 512 GB A new laptop’s warranty, for $200 more on Oct 22 $1,299, apple.com, Oct 22, 2026

We chose these because Apple’s refurbished store gave the clearest like-for-like comparison and the strongest written terms we read. We haven’t tested these laptops; how we work explains our sources. Refurbished stock changes daily (a 15-inch M4 Air listing came and went on October 22), so check the live listing.

mac-refurbApple MacBook Air 13-inch (M5, March 2026), Apple Certified Refurbished FDHE4LL/A (Midnight; FDHH4LL/A is Sky Blue): 10-core CPU / 8-core GPU, 16 GB, 512 GBApple M5 (10-core CPU: 4 super + 6 efficiency; 16-core Neural Engine) (Apple) · 8-core GPU · 16 GB unified memory · 512 GB SSD · 13.6" screen · 2.7 lb
$1,099.00Price at apple.com, checked Oct 22, 2026Check price on Amazon
macApple MacBook Air 13-inch (M5, 2026)Apple M5 (10-core CPU, 8-core GPU) · 8-core GPU · 16 GB unified memory · 512 GB SSD · 13.6" screen · 2.7 lb
$1,299.00Price at apple.com, checked Oct 21, 2026Check price on Amazon

For gaming on a budget, check a refurbished laptop’s graphics chip against each game’s requirements, whether you’re shopping under $800 or under $500.

FAQ

Is buying a refurbished laptop safe?

From a seller that states its warranty and return window, yes. Read who services the laptop, since on marketplaces that’s the seller, not the store.

Can I buy AppleCare for a refurbished Mac?

Yes. Apple’s refurbished product pages say “AppleCare product can be purchased.”

Is refurbished the same as open-box?

No. Best Buy describes open-box items as customer returns, display models or items with damaged packaging, restored to factory settings and graded. They follow the store’s own grade and return rules.

Which brand is best for refurbished laptops?

By written terms, Apple, Lenovo and Dell’s Outlet: each promises the same warranty as new. That says nothing about reliability, only about the paperwork.

What to do next

  1. Pick the seller by its warranty first: one year in writing, from a company you can name.
  2. On any marketplace, find the “Sold by” line and the warranty line before you look at the price.
  3. Look up the exact processor and check it against Microsoft’s Windows 11 list.
  4. Within the return window, check the battery and test every port, the keyboard and the webcam.
  5. Save the warranty and return pages as PDFs with your order.

Sources

All read October 22, 2026, unless a date is given.

More guides guides